Honorary Doctorate

An honorary doctorate is one of higher education’s most significant accolades. The University awards honorary doctorates to distinguished individuals who have achieved pre-eminence in their field or profession, or who have made significant contributions to their country, the society or in international relations. They are conferred on individuals who have rendered distinguished service to the University or the community in the advancement of learning and knowledge or who have contributed significantly to the development of their country or the betterment of society and international relations.


Honorees affirm and dignify the University’s achievements and standing in Singapore and internationally. The conferment of honorary doctorates brings with it goodwill and contribute towards building up a network of research and other academic collaborations.


Honorary doctorates are conferred honoris causa, “for the sake of honour”. Honorary doctorates are awarded as: Doctor of Laws (honoris causa), Doctor of Science (honoris causa), Doctor of Letters (honoris causa), Doctor of Engineering (honoris causa) and Doctor of Education (honoris causa).


Honorary Doctorate recipients are selected by the University's Honorary Degrees Committee and approved by the University's Board of Trustees. This year, NTU will be conferring honorary doctorates on two individuals.


The two honorary doctorate recipients are:


Degree of Doctor of Letters (honoris causa)

Sir Keith O'Nions

  • Chair, Cambridge Enterprise Ltd and
  • Chair, British Geological Survey

Public Orator: Mr Koh Boon Hwee


Degree of Doctor of Letters (honoris causa)

Mrs Margaret Lien Wen Hsien

  • Governor Emeritus, Lien Foundation

Public Orator: Professor Ling San




Share Article